Apr 04, 2013
Venturini Motorsports ‘Wide Open’ in Talladega ARCA open testing
Press Release

ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards
(TALLADEGA, Ala.) - Wide open space. That’s how New Castle, Indiana’s Caleb Armstrong described Talladega Superspeedway Wednesday after taking his first laps around the 2.66-mile track during ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards open testing.

Known for its spectacular three- and four-wide 200 mph mad scrambles, Talladega is the widest among the superspeedways that ARCA races on, and at times, the wildest.

“What struck me most about Talladega, in comparison to Daytona, was the wide open space,” said Armstrong, as if he were describing the ‘wild west’.

“There is so much more room. Daytona is a lot narrower than it looks on TV. Talladega is one awesome track. We started out pretty quick, fell back a little, but I think we could have been faster had it not rained.”

Persistent rain showers cut today’s test session about three hours short of the intended mark, but not before 17 drivers posted time and speed.

And if Armstrong “fell back a little”, it wasn’t much. Armstrong, the cousin of Dakoda Armstrong (ARCA winner at Talladega in 2010), was third fastest overall (179.108 mph), and third among his Venturini Motorsports teammates, led by Daytona winner John Wes Townley.

“The test was great,” Townley said.

“We unloaded, made a few changes – some things we wanted to try, and picked up right where we left off (at Daytona). Despite the rain, I think we got what we needed. This is the same car we won with at Daytona, and it’s still fast.”

Townley, of Watkinsville, Ga., agreed with Armstrong regarding the wide open space at Talladega.

“The biggest thing that stands out to me is the room you have to race at Talladega. It gets a little edgy at Daytona when you start going three wide, but here (Talladega), you can run three-wide comfortably, and squeeze in a fourth car when you need to.”

Venturini Motorsports led the charts, taking the top-four spots with Townley, in the No. 15 Zaxby’s Toyota, the quickest overall with an average speed of 180.264 mph.

Milka Duno, who qualified second at Daytona, leading the first 11 laps, was second fastest overall. The Caracas, Venezuela driver, in the No. 35 CANTV-Milka Way Toyota, circled the track Wednesday with an average speed of 179.625 mph.

Baltimore, Maryland rookie Justin Boston, in the No. 25 ZLOOP Toyota, was fourth fastest overall at 178.720 mph.

“I thought the test went really good,” Boston said.

“Collectively, as a (Venturini Motorsports) group, it was awesome. For me, personally, it was a comfort thing – building my confidence for when we return. But today was really more important for us as a team, than for me as a driver.

“The track definitely feels a lot bigger (than Daytona) going down the straightaways. The other difference I noticed was the access roads – getting onto and exciting pit road is different.”

Current ARCA Racing Series point leader Mason Mingus, also in a Toyota, was fifth fastest overall at 177.854 mph.

Former Talladega polesitter Tom Hessert was sixth on the charts with an average speed of 177.745 mph in the No. 77 Cunningham Motorsports Dodge.

Former Talladega winner and eight-time Daytona winner Bobby Gerhart was seventh overall in the No. 5 Lucas Oil Chevrolet.

Gerhart tested two cars, a newer machine and an old reliable car he calls “Sweet Pea”. Gerhart’s Sweet Pea is the same car that he won in at Talladega in 2001. It’s also the same car that got wrecked in a multi-car pile-up at Talladega during last year’s race.

“Both of the cars we tested are former Daytona winners. In fact, there are four Daytona wins between these two cars – two apiece. One of our goals was to find out which car is the best, and leave it at that.”

Hessert’s Cunningham Motorsports teammate, rookie Korbin Forrister, was eighth fastest followed by fellow rookies Cody McMahan (Wes Gonder Racing) and Galen Hassler (Carter 2 Motorsports) to complete the top-10 respectively.

ARCA Racing Series open testing is scheduled to continue Thursday, barring no rain. will feature live timing and scoring

The two-day scheduled test is in preparation for the 51st annual Talladega ARCA 250, live on SPEED at 5:00 p.m. eastern Friday, May 3.

Former Talladega ARCA winners include Ramo Stott, Mark Martin, Davey Allison, Red Farmer, Grant Adcox, Charlie Glotzbach, Jimmy Horton, Tim Steele, Mike Wallace, Paul Menard, Frank Kimmel, Justin Allgaier and Ty Dillon to name a few.

2013 ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards

Talladega Superspeedway, Talladega Alabama

Open Test Results (4-3-13)


1 15 John Wes Townley/Watkinsville GA Toyota 53.122 180.264

2 35 Milka Duno/Caracas Venezuela Toyota 53.311 179.625

3 55 Caleb Armstrong/New Castle IN Toyota 53.465 179.108

4 25 Justin Boston/Baltimore MD Toyota 53.581 178.720

5 32 Mason Mingus/Brentwood TN Toyota 53.842 177.854

6 77 Tom Hessert/Cherry Hill NJ Dodge 53.875 177.745

7 5 Bobby Gerhart/Lebanon PA Chevrolet 54.179 176.747

8 22 Korbin Forrister/Cedartown GA Dodge 54.330 176.256

9 38 Cody McMahan/Chilhowie VA Ford 54.670 175.160

10 40 Galen Hassler/Columbia MO Dodge 54.826 174.662

11 13 George Cushman/Waterville NY Chevrolet 54.865 174.538

12 40 Eric Meisner/Brighton CO Dodge 54.884 174.477

13 90 Grant Enfinger/Fairhope AL Ford 55.034 174.002

14 90 Buster Graham/Lafayette LA Ford 55.063 173.910

15 40 Dustin Knowles/Trussville AL Dodge 55.097 173.803

16 40 Mark Meunier Dodge 55.145 173.651

17 27 Barry Fitzgerald/Sykeston MD Ford 56.981 168.056

40 Joel Willman/Fort Hood TX Dodge NT

40 Dominick Casola/Holmdel NJ Dodge NT

40 Cody Lane/Port Richey FL Dodge NT


The Automobile Racing Club of America (ARCA) is among the leading and most diverse auto racing sanctioning bodies in the country. Founded in 1953 by John and Mildred Marcum, the organization administers more than 100 events each year in multiple racing series, including the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards, the ARCA/CRA Super Series, the ARCA Truck Series and the ARCA Midwest Tour, plus weekly racing at Toledo and Flat Rock Speedways.

Source: Automobile Racing Club of America Press Release

Article Tags: , , , ,

Comments Closed

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.

© 2011-2012 Catchfence. All rights reserved. is a member of the Citizen Journalist Media Corps created by NASCAR®.
NASCAR® is a registered trademark owned by National Association for Stock Car Auto Racing, Inc.
The Official NASCAR® website is NASCAR® ONLINE(sm) at